What I’ve read so far this year

I’m sure there’s more than this, but I don’t have my trusty ereader handy.

The Shining by Stephen King – Just started it; haven’t gotten to the really creepy parts yet.

Silent Partner by Dina Matos McGreevey – Jim McGreevey’s ex-wife’s version of events. I originally wanted to read this one first, but I found The Confession at a used book store. Neither one of them comes off as terribly sympathetic (more on this later when I can write a coherent post). It’s also a much faster read then The Confession, mainly due to the lack of convoluted politics (and, I imagine, different target audiences).

The Confession by James E. McGreevey – “America’s first gay governor” tell his coming out story with a healthy (or unhealthy, depending on your point of view) dose of New Jersey politics.

Guardian Angel by Sean Michael – Excellent read. I’m psyched that Torquere is starting to package some of the Chasers as novelettes.

Unlikely Hero by Sean Michael – Loved it – sappy, angsty, and hot. Stories with kids usually freak me out (because kids freak me out), but it was well done.

Needful Things by Stephen King – The ending felt a bit out of the blue, but otherwise it was well-paced and a quick read.

Lindbergh by A. Scott Berg – This took me forever. I kept putting it down, but once I got passed the first quarter, it picked up. I was primarily interested in the kidnapping and Lindbergh’s association with the isolationist / American Fascist movement. He was not a nice man (politics aside, he was incredibly neglectful and outright mean to his family); Berg is a bit of an apologist, but it’s by no means a hagiography. I believe this came out before the revelations of Lindbergh’s other families, but given his emotional detachment and self-absorption, I no longer find it terribly surprising.

1 thought on “What I’ve read so far this year”

  1. Some great books there….did you finish any of the King books. I love the shinning, but needful things is one of my all-time favorites.

Leave a Reply

